A thank you note

Shruti gets all melodramatic on her new friend. In Maximum City for some much needed re-energizing and search for inspiration, here is a small note to the magical city with a never-say-die attitude!

Dear Mumbai,

I want to be clear about my feelings for you, so neither of you get hurt. I have always been a Bangalore girl. It’s not just the weather there – the way on some rainy evenings it can even take your breath away, or the reassuring smell of filter coffee or Rasam – but it’s my life there and the memories of a past I so cherish. I don’t know what type of spell you have me under, but in these past two months I can see why so many people fall in love with you. Yes you have a charm and recklessness to you; there’s opportunity and misfortune coexisting within you in one hot sticky mess. You are beautiful but not without your spots, you’ve given me so much to think about. What a summer we’ve had together!

You certainly are temperamental. You never keep your cool, always hot enough to melt! Your sandy shores are always packed, as much crowded and littered as you are mesmerizing. But then that’s you right? From up north in Versova, where Mandir and Masjid are neighbours, the sea breeze has filled my lungs and inspired my soul. I came to you in need of a little more courage and will leave with a brave smile and a sure heart. For this you have my gratitude.

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.42.24 PM
 Your people are an enigma. No one is the same and yet nothing differentiates them.  Constantly rushing, never catching a breath; getting in the next door before they’ve even left the one before. Bold people making a statement, unafraid to be themselves. Not judging but still looking. A casual helpfulness, without getting personal. I can’t quite say ‘eat or be eaten’. Your people are interesting and so ambitious. 
Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.42.39 PM
 Your cobbled roads and busy streets, bay windows and cramped little apartments – give you that mischievous personality I’m so intrigued with. Specks of bougainvillea everywhere the eye can see, you really know how to dress!
Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.42.48 PM
 
Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.43.21 PM
 While the old buildings in town are magnificent, your bazaars and street food are just brilliant. Pav Bhaji and golas by the beach, Tikkas and Bhel Puri on the streets. Mango milkshakes that need a spoon. How do you do it? In the narrowest of gali’s in that little shop, you churn out magic on a plate. Bazaars and bargains, Crawford, Mangaldas, Lokhandwala or Chor Bazaar. There’s a piece of you to be had with every purchase and every sale. And oh my those local trains, the journey and the destination offer equal surprises. Life with you is safe. You can give me one of total seclusion or vibrant interaction, the night never ends with you! 
Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.43.45 PM
 Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.44.09 PMYou’ve taught me so much about myself. Your stunning views, be it seaside or hillside (Lonavala and Khandala) have filled me with new hope. With you I feel bolder. In your chaos I found peace with myself. With you I feel less judged. With you I see a future. I have you to thank for inspiring a small venture. I know we will meet again next summer. I will be back in your very warm embrace. For you are a new type of treasure to me, one that symbolizes some firm steps into scary adulthood. Not so scary when its with you and your opportunities and tolerance for mess.  
Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.44.22 PM
 
Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.44.41 PM
 Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.55.26 PM
I have not chosen you over Bangalore. No. I just found a place for you in my heart as well.
Love
Another One
 
 
About Shruti Bharath

Social entrepreneur and developmental writer, passionate about creating workable solutions in the areas of improving employability of youth and women through skill enhancement/training and generation of productive and sustainable employment opportunities.

What are your thoughts here?

