Confessions of a Belly Dancer

Veena an architecture student confesses her love for dance! Read on for this military kid’s experience.

Dancing has never been my passion. I dread it. I do not go to parties. I do not attend get-togethers. I do not even join meets. I dread dancing. I have two left feet, and they are not even in sync with each other. I salute the national flag. I sit straight in the meetings. I ride geared bikes. I am not a tomboy. But definitely not a delicate butterfly either. I think I have made my point. I suck at dancing!!

I think my stiff body posture is due to my genes. Half the men in my clan are in the military. Sit straight. Don’t be fidgety. Back straight. Shoulders stiff. Head held high. Flexibility is nowhere in the scene. Not till the far end. I have been brought up in such environment.

The dancing bug bit me when I saw a television show where the girls would proudly flaunt their curves belly dancing. It was love at first sight!

That was it. All I could think was the sensuous body movements of the belly dancers. The shimmies. The hip drops. The chest circles. I spent the next three days watching YouTube videos on belly dancing! Doing all the research I could.

I finally gathered up enough courage to call up a belly dance studio in Bangalore. I told the lady about my history on dance stage. Which was technically nil. After around twenty minutes of her convincing me that belly dance could be learnt by anyone who has a belly and no matter what kind, I felt better. Not that I did not know it before. The three day research! Remember?

I finally gave in. I thought I would give it a try. Attend a few classes. If I catch the moves I would continue. If I do not then I would leave without telling anyone. Change my number and never go near the dance studio ever! I thought I would change my address as well, but oh! That would be too much! And well I did not give my address at the reception. So who cares!

It was my first day at the studio. I had learnt hip drops at home before joining as a preparation. I didn’t want them to think I was not from planet earth!

The moves were surprisingly easy. I picked it up soon. The slides came very naturally to me. Ok that means they did not lie when they said anyone who has a belly can dance! It was ecstasy. I realized that I could dance! I could definitely dance.

And then I remembered Sushmita Sen. Priyanka Chopra. Anushka Sharma! All of them are military kids. But great dancers all the same.

Then I realized. Sometimes it’s not in your genes. It’s not how you are brought up that stops you from doing the things you like. It’s in some corner of your brain.

To do something, you need to believe that you can do it. Shed all your inhibitions. Give it a fair try. You will definitely get it. If you do not then maybe somewhere something is missing in your inputs. Prepare yourself and strike back!

Well that is what my father tells me. About my dance classes?

They are fun. I love the dance form. I just completed three months in the studio and one big dance event with the company. And looking further to learning different forms. Salsa or maybe samba. Lets see!

And yeah. I still salute my national flag. Maintain my posture in the meetings. Ride geared bikes. Guess that part of me will never change!

Learn more about Veena.

 

 

About Shruti Bharath

Social entrepreneur and developmental writer, passionate about creating workable solutions in the areas of improving employability of youth and women through skill enhancement/training and generation of productive and sustainable employment opportunities.

4 comments

  1. Hi Veena, loved to read what you wrote.. I too, so badly wanted to go for this belly dancing class, but my darling but somewhat conservative parents thought it was a little inappropriate. Now I am married, and my husband is super supportive. Thank you for the article! 🙂

  2. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience about unexpected feelings.

  3. Heya great blog! Does running a blog like this require a
    massive amount work? I have virtually no understanding of computer programming
    however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog
    owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless I simply had to ask.
    Thanks a lot!

  4. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

What are your thoughts here?

